New Recipe Attempt

March 4, 2014

I’ve been really bored with having the same thing for breakfast all the time, usually scrambled eggs with cheese, because that is by far Keira’s favorite breakfast.  Then we usually either have toast and jelly or bacon with it.

By the way I found a new way to make bacon that I’ve never thought to do before…bake it in the oven.  Put a few slices on a foil lined baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes and it turns out perfectly crisp.  Plus no grease splatter to burn you or to clean off the stove.  Seriously…TRY IT!

Anyway, back to the new recipe.  We still had eggs and bacon, but changed it up a bit.  I made bacon, egg, and cheese biscuit cups. I found a recipe online, but made mine a little differently. Here’s how I did it if you care to try it out:

You need:

3 large eggs

2 tablespoons milk

2 slices American Cheese, torn into small pieces

1 can refrigerated biscuits, 5 count

4 strips cooked bacon, crumbled

Salt & Pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Press each biscuit round into 5 regular size muffin cups that have been sprayed with cooking spray.

3. Bake for 6 minutes, remove from oven and with the end of a wooden spoon press centers of dough to make room for egg mixture.

4. Place eggs into mixing bowl and add milk, salt and pepper. Whisk to combine then stir in the cheese and two slices of bacon, crumbled.   Pour in egg mixture into each partially baked biscuit, top evenly with the rest of the crumbled bacon. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until eggs are set.

ImageImageThey turned out looking very tasty and I was excited to try them out.  I was pretty disappointed though.  The bacon did not stay crisp and I could hardly even taste it at all.  The cheese was nice and gooey.  I used regular refrigerated biscuits, but if I make this again I want to try it with butter flavored biscuits instead.  Overall, it tasted pretty bland to me, but my picky toddler loved it so I might make some more changes and try it again.

Here is a link to the original recipe that I used as a guideline:  http://picky-palate.com/2011/01/19/double-cheese-and-bacon-egg-biscuits/

If any of you have any ideas on what I can do to make this recipe better, please share, I would greatly appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

